-  17th, 18th and 19th August 2018  -

spinlock irc champs logo3The Spinlock IRC Welsh Championship was brought to a conclusion on Sunday 13th August with racing followed by the Prize Giving in The Welsh National Sailing Academy and Events Centre (Plas Heli).

Pwllheli Sailing Club Secretary and Plas Heli Chairman, Stephen Tudor, thanked PRO Mike Butterfield for the excellent racing on the IRC 1 & 2 Courses set from the wonderful Committee Boat 'Pleione of Dee' with assistance form the Royal Dee Yacht Club.

Robin Evans the Race Officer for IRC 3 and 4 was congratulated on setting excellent cpourses for the Sportsboat and Cruiser Classes.

Huw Pearce and Jack Thompson were thanked and presented with momentos for race scoring and publishing work on the web site

Crews and skippers were invited to the ISORA Night race and also to the ever popular Pwllheli Challenge in September.

The Provisional Dates for the Spinlock IRC Welsh National Championship have been announced 17th to 19th August - 

The Full results are available here but in Summary the Series winners were as follows:

Spinlock IRC Welsh Championship - The Champions

Place IRC 1 IRC 2  IRC 3  IRC4
1st Fools Gold Legless Again Luvly Jubbly Ella Trout III
2nd  Dark Angel Eazi Tiger Jac Y Do Paraiba
3rd Impostor Ingenious HRT To Me To You


The Champions

Photographs by our event Official Photographer here and photos of the Prize-Giving here


Day One - Report

The Spinlock IRC  Welsh National Championships hosted by Plas Heli and Pwllheli Sailing Club, got off to a breezy start today with 20-25kt South Westerly winds, rain and a confused sea! Race management for IRC 1 and 2 by the Royal Dee yacht club and IRC 3 and 4 by CHPSC.

With lumpy conditions for he committee boat, PRO Mike Butterfield set a short coastal course for IRC 1 and 2, with a beat to St Tudwal's Islands, round the back and then a run back to the Plas Heli finish line.

IRC 1 was won by Rob McConnels A35 "Fools Gold" and IRC 2 by the local M Crompton/G Hallsworth J97 "Injenious"

Robin Evans, PSC Race Officer set a windaward / leeward course around the club racing marks for the sportsboats in IRC 3 which was a great challenge in the gusty conditions. This race was won by M and J Thompson in J80 Jac y do. The IRC 4 cruiser class were set a course to Eurwyn buoy and back via the West end mark and this race was won in great style by Roger Fitzgerald in his Delher 29 Ella Trout III

A demanding day on the water, and tomorrow looks like a great sailing day in cardigan bay with 11-15 kts NE wind forecast for Day 2 where the IRC 1 and 2 classes will be racing windward/Leeward, IRC3 round the cans, and IRC4 a coastal course. Results are available here

More Photos by Andy Green here